Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Communication and Support, 2 Sisters I don't have......

So begins the week...  This past weekend was jam-packed with fun filled activities: I met up with a dear friend I hadn't seen in months and we canoodled and talked til 330 in the morning, soberly I might add....  I woke after 3 hours of sleep to go downtown to the mall to walk and raise money/awareness to Sex Slavery in America (I was shocked at the numbers they shared from the podium of women trafficking right here in our own country)....  By 5:00 I was enjoying the Toddler Boogie! a fundraiser for my lil man's daycare school (I was so upset that his parents couldn't get him to wear the cute Halloween outfits I had found for him--he looked adorable in the duck costume but we also had a dinosaur...  I fell asleep early around 8:00 on the couch watching Project Runway from Thursday (GO ANYA!) and woke up at 130, my body telling me its time to be up and active, so I wrote some notes down, checked my email, surfed in my scubbies on the net, read a book, NONE of my tricks worked to help me fall asleep (even the standard one all males sometimes rely on but no one talks about-that didn't work either) SO I went to the gym, had an awesome work out and then came home........  I had a frustrating conversation with my soon to be ex brother-in-law and it inspired me to do yardwork!  Brought out my inner-immigrant I worked for 6 hours straight on getting all the shrubs cut back for fall and cut the grass.....  I had a busy weekend.


That being said, I have the amazing luxury of having 3 of the most amazing siblings anyone could ask for and when I am apart from them I want to tell them every detail of my life as if they were here!  This is a drastic leap from where I was 3 months ago when my mute persona was in town with the depression and I never told  them anything.  My oldest and wisest sister point black said to me, "Aar I love that you have changed and that you have exciting things to talk to me about but you're exhausting!"  This came out of the conversation after both Saturday and Sunday I blew up her phone, as well as my sister Megan's, for them to never respond to me neither by text or call.  We have all been in that frustrated situation and it pissed me off!!  Now I will present the better situation:  I called my friend Heather and she was busy with her 3 children so she didn't answer and shot me a text a half hour later explaining herself.  NORMAL!  I don't feel like my expectations are too high, just would appreciate some normality from them and common decency... Because if communication doesn't happen regularly people grow apart.  How can we feel support from each other if that is never communicated accurately?  As a childcare provider I used to think that the worst situation to be in was having different discipline ideas/techniques, however now I think its just talking to each other.  In my current job problem after problem have occurred because it is so difficult to communicate with 2 people who put career first in their life and not knowingly the children second.  It's so devastating to me because those sweet children suffer, that you have now paid me for the last year to care for and fall in love with.  No matter how you look at it, their care is compromised when adults don't make time to communicate with them/their nannies.


Climbing down from the soap box... I don't want to go into any great length of detail but I will drop a spoiler alert.  Yesterday an accident happened while I was watching the house and natural gas came pouring into their home..  The emergency was handled and all is fine--no one blew up, praise Jesus--however mine and the Dr.'s relationship will forever be changed because of the communication that went down.  That's my story...

No comments:

Post a Comment